Camp Depth Chart Post

LATROBE, Pa. – Coach Mike Tomlin is nothing more than a follower of the NFL rules, so when the league requires him to submit a depth chart, he submits a depth chart. And based on its history, consumers of this information and/or those whose names are out there somewhere are advised to see it as something between nonsense and what Moses came down the mountain etched on tablets of stone.

And so, without further ado, the Steelers’ depth chart for 2022, which should absolutely surprise no one who’s been paying attention this offseason or anyone who’s learned how Tomlin operates during this time of year.

Naturally, the line of most importance to those who take the time to peruse this is the one that lists the quarterbacks. As it has been since the first snap of the first OTA in May, the quarterbacks are lined up as follows: Mitch Trubisky, Mason Rudolph, Kenny Pickett and Chris Oladokun.


This is the case with the rest of the attacking positions as well. The starting offensive line is listed, from left to right, Dan Moore Jr., Kevin Dotson or Kendrick Green, Mason Cole, James Daniels and Chuks Okorafor. The starting wide receivers are Chase Claypool and Diontae Johnson; at tight end is Pat Freiermuth; running back is Najee Harris and fullback is Derek Watt.

As we saw in the quarterbacks list, the backups at each position are usually arranged based on years of service, either in the NFL or with the Steelers, or sometimes based on the status of the draft.

As an example, Benny Snell (entering his fourth season) is No. 2 behind Harris, with Anthony McFarland Jr. (entering his third season) at No. 3. That’s why, as an example, the alternates listed behind Johnson at wide receiver are Anthony Miller (5th-year player), then Gunner Olszewski (4th-year player), then Calvin Austin III (rookie but undrafted) and then Tyler Snead (rookie but undrafted ).

A slight exception could be found at backup catchers behind Claypool, because Cody White (2nd-year player) is listed as No. 2 with Miller (5th-year player) at No. 3, but since Miller was already listed as the copy As Johnson’s primary backup, it makes sense for someone else to appear as Claypool’s primary backup.

On defense, the starting linemen are Cam Heyward at defensive tackle, Tyson Alualu at nose tackle and Larry Ogunjobi at defensive end. At linebacker, it’s Devin Bush or Robert Spillane at left inside linebacker and Myles Jack at right inside linebacker as the starters; TJ Watt and Alex Highsmith are the starters at outside linebacker. Cam Sutton is the starting right cornerback, with either Levi Wallace or Ahkello Witherspoon at left cornerback; safeties are Terrell Edmunds and Minkah Fitzpatrick; and nickel is Arthur Maulet.

If you look for anomalies in the way reinforcements are organized on defense, Tre Norwood (2nd-year player) is listed at No. 2 as a free safety with Miles Killebrew (7th-year player) at No. 3 there; and James Pierre (third-year player) is ahead of Justin Layne (fourth-year player) as Sutton’s backup at right cornerback.

Chris Boswell, Pressley Harvin and Christian Kuntz are the No. 1 position kicker, punter and long snapper, respectively; and Olszewski is the primary kick returner and punt returner, with Austin serving as the primary backup in both spots.

As Tomlin once said, “People want to set depth charts this time of year, so be it. They change.”

Leave a Comment